GrAttitude

When things aren’t going my way, I can change my situation, or I can change my attitude. Or you can change both! Sometimes it can be hard to see the options in any given situation, and I always try to change my attitude because it’s the one thing that I always have control over. I can’t change the thoughts or actions of other people, but I can change my own.

The first step I took to changing my general attitude about life was to be more thankful. One day I decided that I should let people know that I appreciate them. I like knowing when I’m appreciated, so I thought other people would too. Often, this forces me to go out of my comfort zone and initiate conversation with someone I don’t know very well, or send an email that could easily not be sent. It’s always difficult to go out of my comfort zone, but the rewards are just so worth it. Everyone is always pleased when I thank them, and we both leave feeling better about ourselves.

One surprising encounter of thanks was meeting Dan Mangan and letting him know how much his music meant to me, he was exhausted after a night of playing, but he stayed and talked to everyone who wanted to say hi, and I knew that he stayed because he appreciates his fans. I used to think that it didn’t matter with famous people because everyone is always telling them how great they are, but if everyone assumes that everyone else is telling them, then no one would ever tell them! No one is ever going to say, “I wish people wouldn’t always tell me they’re thankful for what I do.”

The more I thought about all of the things I was thankful for, the better I felt in general. My friend ShayCarl always says, “The meaning of life is hidden behind the word ‘cliché'” and this is a good time for the cliché “Count your blessings.” Remembering the positive things in my life is a skill and habit. The more I do it, the easier it gets and the less I have to actively try to think about it, it just happens. At the beginning it may seem contrived, but you’ll make it your own in time.

Here are situations in which I have shared my gratitude:

  • Thank you for doing the dishes
  • Thank you for meeting me for coffee today
  • I really appreciate your hard work
  • I am so thankful for your friendship
  • Thank you for listening
  • Thank you for sharing that link
  • I’m grateful for this opportunity to work with you
  • Thank you for organizing this meeting

Thank you for reading my blog! I’m so grateful for all of the encouragement I have received and the positive feedback. I appreciate having so many people tell me that they are able to relate 🙂

 

Next post: Always Learning

Leave a Reply

