Forgiveness

“A hero’s journey is not from weakness to strength. The real hero’s journey is from strength to weakness.”  – John Green

One of the main things that took me to church was the hope that I would learn how to forgive myself, and get better at forgiving others. Why did I need to forgive? I had a relationship with someone that was eating at me. I hadn’t handled things as I should have, and it had really negative consequences. It ate at me every day and I felt so bad. I tried to apologize, without results. I wanted that person to forgive me. I thought that if they would forgive me I would feel fine, but we never connected again.

Through counselling, I realized that  I had to forgive myself for my actions. When I can’t change my situation, or the people around me, I have learned that I have to change myself. I had to accept that I had done my best at the time, and I would learn from that experience, and handle things differently when a similar situation came along again. That left me with, How do I forgive myself?

When I was little, my brother and I would fight. If I did something bad I would have to go to my room until I was ready to apologize. Then, I had to say “Sorry” to him and he would have to say, “It’s ok,” as an acknowledgement of the apology and a sign of forgiveness, to me in return. This went back and forth as a daily occurrence. When someone said sorry, and meant it, you would have to forgive them. That was the extent of any formal education in forgiveness that I remember.

My counselor was helpful, but couldn’t give me the exact steps and formula that I wanted for forgiveness. Forgiveness is not a popular idea in our culture. We value individuality, forgetting that we are all connected. We work so hard to protect ourselves from negative feelings in our relationships, but those negative situations still happen and we just push them down and ignore them. Pretending everything is ok for appearances is not helpful.

I knew of no secular ways to learn this skill. I thought that if anything would be able to help me, it would be that feeling of being loved that I sometimes got from God. If I were to encourage and develop that within myself, I would know how to forgive, and I would learn how to avoid the situations that would require it later. I also knew that I needed to hear it said to me. I needed to hear the words, “You are forgiven.” (Forgiveness is a perlocutionary speech act, like promising – the utterance of the phrase creates the action.)

So I ended up at church. We think God feels the same way about us as we do about ourselves. This is not true. God loves us unconditionally. God loves us when we make mistakes. God loves us, even when we do not love ourselves. God gives us the grace to love ourselves. I can’t come up with the grace within myself, and so it comes from outside. Maybe after enough practice, it will come easily from within myself, or through God. I don’t know. There are people out there who can remember that they are enough as they are without God, but I am not one of them. I need to hear and feel it from someone else.

I know that my boyfriend and my family and my friends love me. I can tell myself that they just love what they see. There are those parts that I am ashamed to share. I tell myself that they would not love me if they knew, but God knows everything, and still loves me. I am working on being able to share myself wholly with those who I love, and not feel shame for the way I am. I can do this because there is God’s grace in everyone, and I tell myself that they will still love me. I cannot bear to be bare, but that’s what it takes to complete the hero’s journey.

So I just practice being weak, embracing vulnerability, embracing my imperfections. Realizing that it is powerful to be weak and humble.

The only way to get rid of the negative feelings is to lean into them, embrace and deal with them. The fear is worse than what you fear always. Fearing weakness is always worse than being weak.

Forgiveness is hard, but the alternative is harder.

4 thoughts on “Forgiveness

    • Thank you, Laverna. I’m happy to be able to share the things I am learning. I know there is always so much more to learn, but I’m glad I’ve started 🙂

  1. I feel like forgiveness is more for the benefit of the person doing the forgiving than it is for the person being forgiven. If we don’t don’t forgive others(and as you say ourselves) then we live in bitterness and cause ourself suffering for holding on to what ever hurt us.

    I agree with you that Christianity teaches forgiveness like nothing in the secular world ever could. If Jesus could forgive me for all the little mean, and selfish and spiteful little things I do and think on a daily basis, how much more should I forgive others? And I certainly couldn’t do it on my own. It would be much easier to wallow in bitterness about how people have mistreated me in some way or another over the years but how much more would it hurt me to not forgive!

    • I think forgiveness really affects both parties. It is nice to be the one forgiving because you have the power to do that. It’s a way you can take action. I also think that there is something so amazing about being forgiven. I think about when I have been forgiven and it’s like being saved. You get a new start, and a clean slate.

      Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

