Lucky

I’m a lucky girl. I often think about how I was born in the right place at the right time. I had nothing to do with it, but I ended up with a charmed life. I won’t go into all the ways I’m lucky or privileged, but I would like to talk about how it makes me feel.

I always think about how there is balance in the universe and that makes me feel better when I am down, but it scares me because my life is so good.¬†Sometimes I feel like if karma gives me good things after bad things happen to me, or it punishes me for bad things that I do, it will give me bad things because I’ve had so many good things. I also feel like typing these words will bring bad things upon myself, but I refuse to be superstitious. Instead, I remember that sad things will happen to me in my life, and because of my social support and clear thinking that I am so lucky to have, I will be able to deal with it in a healthy way.

I had a counsellor who told me that I had to learn how to expect good things to happen to me. Often, I don’t want to be disappointed when something turns out differently from what I wanted so I just skip a step and brace myself for bad things. There’s no way they’re going to call me after that awesome interview I did. There’s no way that friend will not cancel. There’s no way things will be the way I want them. But they always turn out, eventually. That job called me back, or it wasn’t one that would have worked out. That friend showed up, or I had time to just read my book.

Expecting good things is a difficult habit to start, but I think it’s worth it. Bringing positivity into my life by expecting good things has lifted my mood in general and allowed me to have faith that things will work out. That’s what it is, just having faith that good things will happen to you. There are always at least two ways to spin things, and the more I can spin towards the positive, the better life is.

 

I will continue with these ideas of optimism in another post coming soon.

Leave a Reply

