Grandparents

When I was little, I was lucky enough to have many, many grandparents. Both my mother’s parents and my father’s parents divorced when they were kids, and both remarried. I knew them all. With some, I spent more time than others, but I knew them all and no one lived more than a 7 hour drive away. I even knew two of my great-grandparents really well. I have been lucky.

But now I’m planning my wedding and I have one grandparent left, and she’s really sick, and lives really far away. While two of my grandparents lived well into their 90s (one was 95 and the other was 99.5) I’m pretty sure I’m going to have no grandparents make it to 90. I’m sad because I won’t be able to see them at my wedding. I’m sure they’ll be able to see me. Sometimes I feel the presence of certain grandparents. And I always feel the presence of my great-grandmother. It’s kind of like she never left. My mom feels like she is close too. So I’m sad for myself.

I’m sad because my kids won’t know them. But I know this is just a part of the shift of generations. My grandparents passing on means that I get to pass on into the role of “adult” and “parent” and my parents get to be the new grandparents. It’s still sad when your family is different from they way you’ve always known it to be, but these are roles we are all looking forward to. 

2014 will be a year full of new things, and many firsts!

Leave a Reply

